The Footprint of “The Alchemist”

I recently realized that I have so much of time for myself that I wanted to keep myself occupied. I was looking out for options and tried a few of them. I told one of my best friends that I’m planning to try a book. He knows that I love philosophy and rightly so, he did suggest me “The Alchemist”. This is the first book I tried after a very long time and I liked it so much. I would say this is the best philosophical I’ve read so far. There were a few lines in the book that I’ve now been relating to, in my routine life very often. A few were lessons for life and a few were thought provoking. Here I go with few of the thought provoking lines.

There is a universal language, understood by everybody, but already forgotten.

Yeah. This is the line that made me think for a long time. I don’t know Hindi. But how do I tap my feet when I listen to a Hindi song? It’s not the song that I tap my feet to. It is the music that makes me tap my feet. Do kids really understand the songs they dance to, even if it is in the kids’ own mother tongue? I believe that it is the music that makes them dance. So is music a universal language? This is no way close to what Paulo Coelho is trying to convey by universal language. But this is my thought on this line.

When you possess great treasures within you and try to tell others of them, seldom are you believed.

How true it is. You tell a person that there are 400 billion stars in the sky and he’ll believe you, tell him a bench is wet and he will touch it. I believe that this is the reason why most of the legends are awarded only after their death. People simply don’t lend their ears when someone tells something great and realize that only when the someone is not around to be appreciated.

Every Search starts with a beginner’s luck and ends with the victor being thoroughly tested.

This is something I’ve always thought about. If there is something that drives life on earth, it is search. One has to be searching for something or the other from dawn to dusk, from birth to death. I’ve never missed out the songs that emphasized this line right from
“Thedal enbathu ullavarai vazhvil rusi irukkum” from thullatha manamum thullum
To
“Thunial kannaiyum katti, kaiyya kaathula neeti, innum theduraen avala, thaniya engae ponalo!!” from Varanam Aayiram.

The search may be for anything. It may be for knowledge, love, food, treasure or destiny. But Search is what that drives our lives. What this line preaches is it’s not search alone, but all that it takes from the start to end. Beginner’s luck is like power play in cricket where a batsman can get away with mishit during the initial few overs. One has to be searching when the beginner’s luck pushes them to next level. It will only push you to next level from where it gets tougher. Only after bearing all the heat gold becomes jewel.

On the whole “The Alchemist” was a good read. I would like to read a few more along similar line.

6 thoughts on “The Footprint of “The Alchemist”

  1. Rajasekar says:

    very nicely said.! best part is the climax. He goes searching for something all around the world gaining lot of virtues yet at the end the treasure he seeks was right under the place he slept..

  2. leena says:

    Hey loga!
    super blog 🙂

  3. Aravindan says:

    Good that you started reading something. If you are interested in philosophy that is not packaged explicitly like this one, but is present in abundance in the arguments among the characters, I would seriously suggest Shantaram. It’s THE book to read. But its around 1200 pages.

  4. cresloga says:

    @Raja- Yeah, that was the best part. I have so well pictured it. @Lee- Thanks, @Aravindan- Yeah. I’m sure I’m gonna try that..!! Thanks

  5. Ad-it-i says:

    hey loga… amazing post.. alchemist is one of my all time favs too…!!! It forever makes me to come face to face with my real dream in life…if ever i hav lost path that is…
    btw you may want to check out the quotes category on my blog…most of them belong to alchemist!!! 🙂

    cheers,
    Aditi
    http://verne10.wordpress.com/

  6. cresloga says:

    Thanks Aditi. Yeah the best book I would say… The first time I checked your blog, I checked the quotes and most of them are from the Alchemist.. Keep adding to the quotes.. In a way that would help me choose books to read 🙂

    Cheers,
    Loga

Leave a Reply

