Nostalgic Drive

 

I had been to my old workplace yesterday for a session. I was super excited the day before yesterday when I thought about it. But then, that morning when I woke up, I asked myself if I should really attend that session (I have few rules designed by my heart. One of the rules was not allowing me to go there now). I decided to go and started from home at 9:10 A.M for a session that was about to start at 9:30 A.M, with the place 35 Kms away from my home. I love traveling to this place. I always take the longest, yet quickest route to this place. I worked on a project in this place 8 months back. When I was driving I realized that I was not able to push my bike beyond 80 Kmph . Eight months back I used to travel at 100 Kmph to this place. There was a day when I traveled to this place in less than 30 minutes to attend a call. Those were the times when my bike and the road met each other every day, be it a weekend or a weekday. I knew the road so well then. Yesterday, I kept telling myself that it has been 8 months since I took this route and I do not know what state it is in right now and decided not to risk. So I kept the bike under my control. How things happen so soon. The road that once belonged to my bike, appears only familiar now.

I still managed to reach the place in 35 minutes. I was there at 9:45 AM. I attended the session, met one of my best friends and wandered around the place with memories of those pitstop briyani, those war room sessions, those cricket matches with a borrowed bat and ball, those blank screens, those ragging sessions, those rejections, those smiles amidst the pain, those connection issues, those HSB coffees, those friday nightmares, those chocolate mousse, those night outs, those endless “leave in 15 minutes” promises and my cube. It was good to see the place again. But again, the place that looked like I once belonged to, appears only familiar now. Yes, I may have belonged to the place; but the place never belonged to me. Now I know that I can only belong to that place that belongs to me. I’ve realized that long time back. It was a part of my journey as it was for my bike. This was a nostalgic drive to a place where I never belonged to.

6 thoughts on “Nostalgic Drive

  1. shri says:

    i still remember those days..after reading your post, all memories are appearing on my mind now,..
    unforgettable days man..!!! Still when we guys start talking on those days, talk goes for endless hours…
    Good one loga..

    cheers,
    shri

    • cresloga says:

      Yeah, unforgettable days they were. But then , I feel it has always carried a message that you and me seem to have understood…

      Cheers,
      Loga

  2. leena yohasini says:

    nice post..but then only a few can really relate to it(ppl who were along with you)..coz it had a alot of specific memories 🙂 🙂

    • cresloga says:

      Thanks Lee.. glad that you liked it. yeah, It does carry a lot of specific memories. But then couldn’t help the cause. It has to be this way. But I feel that every other IT professional, who have been through hectic projects, would have gone through all this..

      Cheers,
      Loga

  3. KK says:

    You writing has improved a lot……….i can see it! 🙂

    Keep writing…..!

Leave a Reply

